Skip to content

why do I blog…

January 17, 2012

and what makes you want to read it?

For as long as I can remember I’ve always loved journaling. I may not have ever filled a journal completely but there are probably dozens of books with my scribbling in existence. I was even the editor of my high school yearbook so that I could have an opportunity to make my yearbook the record that I really wanted it to be. Once I had children I jumped into scrapbooking. Then I had more children and there was just no time to scrapbook. I still had so many things I wanted to remember though, so I dove into the world of blogging. My first posts were back in 2006! Living in different states than all of our extended family members made blogging an opportunity to share our daily lives with those we love that we’re far away from. I’m pretty sure only family members read my posts for the longest time. My blog is linked to most of the places I participate in online so I’ve gotten a few reads here and there throughout the years, from crafting sites, homeschooling sites, Hyena Cart, online mom communities and so on.

When Miranda was born my blog was silent, I didn’t know how to share about her just yet, wasn’t sure I wanted to go “public” with her so I went back to a paper journal and started recording her life story.

When she died I knew I wanted to blog. I had so much to write and my pen just wasn’t moving fast enough.

All of a sudden people were reading and responding to what I was saying in numbers I never expected.

So here I am navigating this blogging thing with a mind for what lies ahead. Do I really have something to add to the world of blogging? Is my story different enough to receive interest but also just as much relatable? Can I be consistent in posting? Do I have to be focused on one thing? Will I have to chose to be a craft blog? A homeschooling blog? A baby-loss blog? Can I be a little of all of that? Or, should I continue on just journaling our life?

Why am I even asking these questions?

When I started blogging Miranda’s story I had an audience and people started subscribing. I read a (few) post(s) by Amy at Raising Arrows about the 2:1 Conference for blogging homeschool moms, she challenged her readers to consider whether God was calling them to take their blogs further and to consider if attending the convention was in His plans. I’ve been thinking about it often and am praying for Him to open the door if that is what He wills. Amy offered an opportunity to win a ticket to the conference by blogging about why you wanted to go. I missed the deadline. Today I saw that Kris at Weird, Unsocialized Homeschoolers was also opening up that opportunity! I couldn’t miss a deadline again.

I’m continuing to pray that I use this blog for purposes that bring glory to my Savior. I may not speak His name in every post, but I hope my life proves that Jesus is the center without me needing to use words.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 7:49 AM

    I am so sorry for your loss. Yes you definitely have plenty to add to the blogging world – I’m sure you can do anything you put your mind to. There can never be too many God loving voices on the web 🙂 Good Luck!

  2. Jennifer Janes permalink
    January 26, 2012 11:50 AM

    I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your precious daughter. I am saying a prayer now that God will make a way for you to attend 2:1. I would love to meet you.

    Like you, I have wrestled with the whole “blogging” thing. I have finally decided that it’s my blog and I can write about anything I want to write about. Yes, there are regular themes in my posts, but I also break out occasionally and write something silly, like the “Why I Don’t Color My Hair” post I wrote earlier this week.

    Keep writing what’s on your heart. Whether every post is “just for them” or not, your true audience will keep coming back.

    • February 17, 2012 5:56 PM

      Thank you for the sweet words of encouragement. I am still praying to discern if the Lord would have me attend 2:1.

      I loved your post about hair coloring. I am treasuring each strand of my crown as well. 🙂

      • Jennifer Janes permalink
        February 18, 2012 5:36 PM

        You’re welcome. If it’s right for you to attend 2:1, it will all work out. If not, I’ll meet you somewhere else. There’s always eternity, right?

        I’m glad you’re enjoying your crown too!

Trackbacks

  1. Titus 2:1… « Looking at Life CreativLEI

Leave a comment to join the conversation...