Skip to content

when you let things grow naturally (home-grown sourdough)…

February 2, 2012

…sometimes it leads to a loaf of bread.

On January 21st I started my sourdough adventure!

I followed the directions HERE, except that I used water instead of pineapple juice. 1 cup of hi-gluten flour (Sir Lancelot from King Arthur Flour) and 3/4 cup of water.

That’s it!

It took 10 days of diligent feeding

and waiting

but once it started growing

it was growing WELL!

Today I made my first loaf of bread using this recipe. I mixed it last night and left it to rise (from my observations my starter has a 5 hour peak time), I punched it down this morning and shaped it and left it to proof on my stove top for a few hours. I baked it at 450 for about 30 minutes.

It’s delicious! Has a nice tang, nice chew and a crisp crust. I might need to bake a little shorter or lower temp, the crust was a little dark for my liking. I need to adjust my shaping and proof time because I had a HUGE bubble through the loaf.

All in all I successfully baked a loaf without commercial yeast!

…now to figure out what I’ll try next!

p.s. who needs some starter 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 8:08 AM

    Your book and lettering is sooo good. Wow! Hope with class improves my handwriting or hides it.

Leave a comment to join the conversation...

